## SOUTH CAMBRIDGESHIRE DISTRICT COUNCIL

Minutes of a meeting of the Standards Committee held on Thursday, 19 August 2010 at 11.00 a.m.

PRESENT: Kathy English (Independent Member) – Chairman

Alan Hampton (Independent Member) – Vice-Chairman

Members:

Bob Bryant Parish Member
Georgina Butcher Independent Member
Michael Farrar Parish Member
John House Independent Member

Cicely Murfitt District Council Member, non-group

Tony Orgee District Council Member, Conservative Group

Raith Overhill Independent Member

Alex Riley District Council Member, Independent Group

James Williams Independent Member

Officers: Gary Duthie Senior Lawyer

Apologies for absence were received from Diane Best, Nigel Cathcart, Roger Hall, Janet Lockwood, Mary Pilfold-Allan, Eric Revell and Jim Stewart.

## 21. DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

None

## 22. CAXTON PARISH COUNCIL: REQUESTS FOR DISPENSATIONS

Members considered applications for dispensation from 5 members of Caxton Parish Council who all lived on Ermine Street, Caxton, which in the main is a typical ribbon development along the historic Ermine Street.

Several members were concerned that Parish Councillors and the Clerk might previously have been given conflicting information concerning proximity and prejudicial interest, which had resulted in this 'abundance of caution' application.

It was felt that restriction of the dispensation to matters relating to Ermine Street would suffice and that those members of Caxton Parish Council granted dispensations should be advised within the grant letter that they must still declare an interest in all matters concerning Ermine Street, adding as a matter of good practice that they have been granted a dispensation by the Standards Committee.

Standards Committee **RESOLVED** to grant dispensations in regard to matters concerning Ermine Street, Caxton to Caxton Parish Councillors; Richard Bartram, Margaret Harrison, Kirsty Human, Nigel Pearson and Robert Steel and that those dispensations last for the duration of the current Parish Council.

## 23. GAMLINGAY PARISH COUNCIL: REQUESTS FOR DISPENSATIONS

Members considered applications for dispensation from 7 members of Gamlingay Parish Council to enable them to participate in determinations within the Parish Council of

matters relating to the Gamlingay Community Centre.

The Parish Council as a whole was custodian trustee and as such all Councillors had a personal interest in the Community Centre which would be prejudicial in matters concerning finance or regulatory matters.

It was felt that those members of Gamlingay Parish Council granted dispensations should be advised within the grant letter that they must still declare an interest in all matters concerning the Community Centre, adding as a matter of good practice that they have been granted a dispensation by the Standards Committee.

Standards Committee **RESOLVED** to grant dispensations in regard to any matters concerning Gamlingay Community Centre to Gamlingay Parish Councillors; Peter Dolling, David Finnigan, Lewis Girdwood, Maggy Halliday, Jason Nicholas, David Sadler and Ian Simpson, and that those dispensations last for the duration of the current Parish Council.

The Meeting ended at 11:12pm